Hunter's Moon at Dusk 2010

Hunter's Moon at Dusk 2010
View of Hunter's Moon Spectacular

Thursday, November 26, 2009

The Elements in Astrology

Readers are much more sophisticated about astrology these days, yet the most common astrology oversimplifies.  For this reason, astrology has lost credibility with many people.  Human beings are complex, and in-depth astrology always reflects a mulitfaceted individual.

Often referred to as a natal chart, in astrology, an astrology chart is what gives uniqueness to a personality.  Very much unlike reading daily news astrology, when a birth chart is constructed, the multifaceted characteristics of a human being are explored.

The hieroglyphs are symbols seen within an astrology chart.  What do they mean?
Astrology is an ancient art, and the early symbols are still used in contemporary natal or birth charts known as horoscopes.  Hieroglyphs are a type of shorthand that saves time, and space.  A lot of information makes its way to the wheel shaped form used by most astrologers.

Here is a brief rundown of what the planets actually signify.  Hopefully this demonstrates some of the complexity covered in an authentic astrology reading.  Whether the chart is simply exploring the personality of the subject, or calculating trends, it’s an astrology chart is a basic necessity for truly understanding who a person is.

Astrology and what the Planets represent:

Sun - soul
Moon – emotions, intuition
Venus – love nature
Mars – motivation; love nature of male expression
Mercury – communication, intelligence
Jupiter – growth and expansion (prosperity)
Saturn – stability through knowledge
Uranus – quixotic changes, genius, electricity
Neptune – spirituality
Pluto – subconscious

Astrology and house placement:

 The next category functions as a sort of an underlay for the placements of the planets.  This is the system of houses.  Wedge shaped areas are described further in depth as to characteristics that are feminine or masculine, as most people have attributes of both genders.  The houses represent basic areas of life.

For example, if you are a Leo, and your Leo sun sign falls into the fourth house, you are more of a homebody than most Leos.  If the sun sign is placed in the seventh house, you are a relationship person. Because the seventh house is Libra’s home, this placement gives a tinge of the Libra nature to a basic Leo archetype.

After all of the planets are placed on the wheel or the natal chart, the angles between the placements are calculated.  If two planets are opposite each other, on the wheel, it is called an opposition.  This means inner conflict that needs to be resolved.  A triangle shape between signs is a smoother flow of energy, and it adds ease to a person’s life.

Astrology - Triplicities and Quadruplicities indicate elements describing a certain facet of personality – Fire, Air, Earth, Water are descriptions of personality facets.  The other consideration is a description of Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. Cardinal shows administrative abilities.  Fixed indicates someone who isn’t too flexible.  Mutable indicates flexibility.

An astrology chart goes a long way toward understanding a human being as a unique individual.

No comments: